Day 4: My Post-it Question

That which each can do best, none but his Maker can teach him. Where is the master who could have taught Shakespeare? Where is the master who could have instructed Franklin, or Washington, or Bacon, or Newton? . . . Shakespeare will never be made by the study of Shakespeare. Do that which is assigned you, and you cannot hope too much or dare too much. – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Identify one of your biggest challenges at the moment (ie I don’t feel passionate about my work) and turn it into a question (ie How can I do work I’m passionate about?) Write it on a post-it and put it up on your bathroom mirror or the back of your front door. After 48-hours, journal what answers came up for you and be sure to evaluate them.

Bonus: tweet or blog a photo of your post-it.

I Will Stop Procrastinating Starting Tonight (which has become tomorrow)

How many of us will be as fortunate as Grandma Moses? Whether we begin creating early or late in life, if we begin thanks to…

– a dare
– curiosity
– serendipity
– soul stirrings
– natural talent
– unusual circumstances
– an avocation ignited by passion
– resourcefulness born of necessity or
– any other motivator…

…the important thing is that we do begin. That we allow ourselves to falter, to fail, to begin again. That we celebrate any success we choose –no matter how small– between our stumblings, failings and new beginnings.

I have an inherent need to string words together on a regular basis. It empties my head and fills my heart. It brings me joy. The Trust 30 daily challenges reinforce this. With nearly every prompt, my love and passion for writing is the theme of, or at least the catalyst for, my response post. Yet here I sit on Day 20, working on Day 4, in the middle of the night, the time of day my brain is currently wired to create. I do believe I can change and improve two aspects relative to that last sentence. For my health and my sanity, I will.

Oh I’ve read the prompts, I’ve thought about them, I’ve begun several. I’ve fallen behind in completing them because I am neither inherently disciplined nor do I lead a structured life. Once upon a time, I was a compulsive list-maker. I lived by my day-planner, desk and wall calendars. Oddly enough, just as life became difficult and demanding, I let these important habits and tools slip by the wayside. For days, weeks, months and years, I let too many things, from big pictures to minutiae, clatter around in my cluttered mind.

Procrastination is practically a disease in my family. Only one of us escaped growing up in chaos without catching it, although surely there are challenges at the opposite end of the spectrum as well. Recently however, I remembered I have a secret weapon, a natural remedy. My messy, creative, adult free spirit has an evil (or angelic, depending on your perspective), twin; an OCD little girl who craves order, organization, and at least some semblance of a routine. I hardly recognize her when she turns up, like when she scoops the litter box three, four, five times in one day. <— See? She does exist! Perhaps I can summon her as a sort of left-brain muse, as I accept the additional challenge of forming better habits. Perhaps we will collaborate, and with her help, I will master them, beginning with procrastination. After all, how many of us will be so blessed to live to be 101?

About ciaomari

Food is in my blood! My Sicilian ancestors were lemon & grape farmers, bakers & grocers. I grew up gardening, canning, fishing & berry-picking. Choosing, preparing & serving food make my heart sing. I live to feed and care for people, at home & work. Food = love! I'm an irrepressibly enthusiastic & infinitely curious East Coast Renaissance woman transplanted to the Southwest desert: beverage geek, food nerd, herb gardener, historian, hospitality pro, musician, nature lover, ordained minister, photographer, polyglot, reader, re-user, recycler, soul therapist, writer & voyager. Admiring beauty, observing details, spreading joy, living mindfully, reading voraciously, writing from the heart, loving passionately... these are a few of my priorities. Thank you for visiting and sharing yourself with me as well.
This entry was posted in #Trust30 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

